Jon Rahm has struggled through the opening stages of the BMW Championship, posting a 73 during Thursday’s first round and then starting Friday’s
second round with bogeys on two of his first seven holes. But that didn’t stop the world’s fifth-ranked player from stepping in whe
a PGA Tour rules official appeared ready to penalize Hideki Matsuyama after the 2021
Masters champ took a practice swing from the rough alongside a bunker on No. 7 only to see the ball roll then back in the bunker.
Matsuyama’s swing wasn’t near the ball, and he instantly looked up at his caddie in horror when he realized it had dropped in the sand.
Since the ball was resting in an awkward spot just outside the bunker, the Japanese standout would have
needed to swing while standing inside the bunker to have any shot at getting the ball near the flag.
A rules official came over and asked if the ball had moved due to Matsuyama’s swing, and Rahm stepped in to insist that was not the case.
The official also asked about the timeline of the ball’s movement — if it came directly after Matsuyama’s practice swing.