These young stars are neck-and-neck for the award as their wayward franchises are competing for the same wild-card spot.

In 1989 voters gave the American League Rookie of the Year award to Orioles reliever Gregg Olson over a talented Mariners  

center fielder by the name of Ken Griffey Jr. In ’92, Pat Listach won over Kenny Lofton. 

Geovany Soto took home NL honors in 2008 over Joey Votto, one year before Chris Coghlan beat out Andrew McCutchen. 

The point being, with respect to the aforementioned winners, that the Rookie of the Year crown does not always end up going to the player 

with the brightest career ahead of him. 

Those voting for the 2022 AL Rookie of the Year will not need to worry about such a fate.

That’s because the two front-runners—Baltimore’s Adley Rutschman and Seattle’s Julio Rodríguez 

have separated themselves from an impressive pack of first-year players 

and appear destined for stardom for the next decade and beyond.